Take Your EPA 608 Test Online

Mainstream Engineering Offers EPA 608 Testing

In order to work in the HVAC industry, technicians who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of refrigerant-containing equipment must be certified under the Environmental Protection Agency’s Section 608 of the Clean Air Act. Mainstream Engineering is a certifying agency for Section 608 Type I, II, III, and Universal certifications. This online resource can help you explore certification options, study, practice, and take the test online!

5050 Row

The EPA has developed four types of HVAC certifications:


  • Type I Certification – For Small Appliances (5lbs or less of refrigerant)
  • Type II Certification – For Medium-, High-, and Very-High Pressure Appliances
  • Type III Certification – For Low-Pressure Appliances

Universal Certification – For anyone who possesses Type I, Type II and Type III Certifications

EPA-Approved Section 608 Certification is needed to service building air conditioning and refrigeration systems.

EPA Section 608 Technician Certification

Get Started

Type I Certification – Can only work on Small Appliance (5lbs or less of refrigerant)
Type II Certification – Can only work on Medium, High and Very-High Pressure Appliances.
Type III Certification – Can only work on Low-Pressure Appliances.
Universal Certification – Someone who possesses Type I, Type II and Type III Certifications

Mainstream offers free study materials for Type I Open Book Certification online:

For Type II, Type III, or Universal certification contact an HVAC wholesaler near you to inquire about our Qwik608™ Self-study course and test (Part Number QT3000).

For technicians using the Type I Open Book format only, the exam is open-book, but the passing grade is 84% (per section) instead of 72% (per section) and the core questions must be repeated in a proctored environment if other certifications are later desired. We suggest the closed book exam! Click here to find a proctor location in your area.

Mainstream is approved by the EPA as a certifying agency for Section 608 Type I, II, III and Universal exams and Section 609 Motor Vehicle A/C certification.

608 Certifications for Servicing Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Systems

Before testing your knowledge on different types of appliances, you will need to pass the Core Section of your EPA 608 exam. The core section of this test discusses the purpose behind industry regulations and each technician’s responsibility to generate a safe and environmentally result. Your core exam section will contain a variety of topics, including focuses on ozone depletion, the value and risks of refrigerants, the Three R’s (Recover, Recycle, Reclaim), safe practices, recovery techniques, and more.

Type 1

Type 1 - Servicing Small Appliances

Available online in an open-book format, the Type 1 EPA 608 certification enables you to service smaller appliances. This section includes proper recovery techniques and industry requirements for small appliances, including recovery in equipment made before and after November 15, 1993. Keep in mind you will also need to take the Core Section test, but since it is open-book, the Core Section will need to be taken in a proctored environment for future certifications!





Type 2 - High-Pressure Appliances

This EPA certification will enable you to service or dispose of medium- to very high-pressure appliances, except in applications such as small appliances or air conditioners within motor vehicles. The focus of this education and training is geared more toward leak detection and how to properly test equipment. Type II also focuses on recovery techniques and requirements to minimize loss or cross-contamination.

Type 2
Type 3

Type 3 - Low-Pressure Appliances

The proper servicing and disposal of low-pressure appliances requires Type III certification, but it is important to know that this near-identical exam is different from Type II in that low-pressure systems work in a vacuum. Leak-tests and proper pressurization are an essential component of low-pressure HVAC services.

Universal Certification

Technicians who pass all three certification exams will be awarded a Universal Certification. You will have to be tested on each of the three certification types in addition to the core exam. Expect to answer 100 questions total.


Have Questions?

Mainstream Engineering Corporation, at EPATest.com, is here to provide complete testing services and support for technicians seeking their EPA 608 certification in addition to certification programs. If you have questions or want to know more about our program, be sure to contact us online or fill out the form below.

Contact Us Today!